Korka

July 26, 2011 § 1 Comment

As you know, I have been furiously getting ready to go to Iceland for my project. I would now like to introduce you to my team. Each of the following posts will explore briefly a member of my art posse. This post is dedicated to Melkorka aka:Korka, she is my head designer. She is from Reykjavik, an Alumni of SFAI in sculpture and now lives in San Francisco with her lovely husband Tyler who makes incredible art.(Video to follow in another post) It has been wonderful to work so closely with someone on an art piece. We have spent hours geek-ing out over silks, digital prints, fashion books and have loved every minute of it. I think, as an artist, one of the best ways to get to know someone is to work on a project with them, a collaboration ideally. One gets to have long juicy conversations about art, life, what inspires you, and whom you admire. I always try and have those kind of conversations regardless of what I am doing, but when you are working with someone new they are especially dynamic. I have never experienced seeing a drawing come to life as a muslin and become fully realized until now. I must tell you, in is very exciting. To move from 2D to 3D is an incredible leap conceptually. It has been such a pleasure seeing these ideas unfold before my eyes.

.

I had to add to this page Bjork’s new single in honor of Korka.

§ One Response to Korka

  • Korka says:

    Æ læk ðiss póst.
    It has been an equal pleasure for me. Michelle and I are kindred spirits and so passionate about this project that we sometimes come close to exploding. Geeks, nerds, emotional, genius, dynamic women: That is us. Hells to the yes.
    Reykjavik 2011 or bust!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Korka at Breaking My Spell.

meta

