Secret Pleasure

May 23, 2011 § 1 Comment

The Afternoon nap is something truly sacred. I remember violently fighting going down for my afternoon nap when I was little. I always felt I was missing out on something else truly exciting, turns out it was mostly when my mom and her fellow student Bunny were working on grad work. I have always been gifted at napping. I remember my mom would bring my brother and I to Star market to buy groceries and I would pass out during the ten minute drive there. It was the most delicious feeling of slowly drifting off while hearing my my families voices swirl around me as I slipped into my slumber. My mom tells a story when, when I was little she had to get the car serviced and brought me with her. I drifted into a deep sleep and was very cranky when she woke me to drop off the car. I voted to stay inside the car and finish was nap. She decided to let me stay. So, while the car was being serviced, I was safely tucked away in the back of our sandy gold Dodge Dart dreaming my little dreams. When the car was done and she was driving us home I awoke and inquired if we had reached the garage. When she told me we had come and gone and I was asleep the whole time I could not believe it. She too, was also surprised I had not woken up among among the cacophony of the auto-body shop. Over the years I have hosted many friends coming over to chill at my house talk, drink tea, pour over coffee table books and a quick cat nap. I believe in social napping, napping in a friend’s company. I do truly relish cuddling up with a blanket on the couch talking, looking at art books and slowly reclining into a late afternoon nap. I try and have a couple of naps a week, it feels utterly luxurious, and I wake up feeling fresh for the rest of the evening. I could not make it through a visit to NYC without my afternoon cat naps to recharge my batteries before beginning a night out. Try a nap this week, they are priceless.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Secret Pleasure

  • gbk says:

    love these pics! and … thanks for the reminder. time for my “9 turns and the sleeping loop”

    have you heard of the siesta revolution?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Secret Pleasure at Breaking My Spell.

meta

